Do you remember Bodaville, in northern Riley County, Kansas?

bodaville sign and skyDo you remember Bodaville, in northern Riley County, Kansas?

All that’s left of this little town on the prairie are two signs at a quiet crossroads.

Lost Communities researcher, Kevin McKeon, is hunting for Bodaville‘s history. He is especially eager to find descendants of the original Boda family, homesteaders in Riley County from Germany and Sweden.

bodaville tombstone crop and clean

Rural Kansas is filled with these mysteries…such as this small group of stones found along the back fence in a cemetery not far from Bodaville.

bodaville limestone sign curving gravel road in background

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrea Wieters says:

    I am a descendant of the original Boda family.

    1. So glad you found us, here. Another commentor mentioned he is a descendant, too!

  2. Arlo Boda says:

    I’m a descendant, Arlo Boda. I live in Longmont, CO now.

    1. So glad you checked in. Swing by the Chapman Center for Rural Studies next time you are in the area.

  3. My father bought what was left of Bodaville real estate at a tax auction in the 1970s, for $40. My brothers and I finally unloaded it a few year ago.

  4. Lauren Boda-Sutton says:

    I am a direct descendant, how can I contact the researcher? Would love to converse, I have old family photographs and letters.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.